A Trip to the Bedford Farmers Market

Where is the best place to stop for a great farm to table meal?  How about your local farmers’ market!  Tuesday was a clear beautiful but hot summer day and my little guy and I decided we’d try some local fare. We headed off to the Bedford Farmers’ Market located at 190 Meetinghouse Rd behind St. Elizabeth Seton Church in Bedford, New Hampshire. This was a large sized farmers’ market.  It had several vendors selling produce but it also had a local fish monger (who I’ll discuss more about in my Merrimack Farmers’ Market post) a brewery of beer and hard cider, a craft booth, dairy free frozen treats, fresh pressed olive oil, maple syrup and a food truck. One vendor even mentioned they usually have live music.  I’ll have to go back to check that out.

While we were there we got fresh cherries, blueberries and broccoli to make baby purees. The recipe I used for the blueberry puree is below.  The head of broccoli was so large my husband and I had some with our dinner the next day. We purchased the cherries and blueberries from a farmer called Apple Hill.  They are out of Concord New Hampshire. The fruit was very sweet and tasty. I snacked on them while making my little guy’s purees.  We also acquired broccoli and zucchini from a farm called Rockey Ole Farm also out of Concord.  The veggies were excellent and the folks running the booth were so kind.  They were chatting up my little guy and he was all smile and wiggles in his baby carrier. ❤ Check out Apple Hill Farm at http://www.applehillfarmnh.com/ . Check out Rockey Ole Farm at http://www.rockeyolefarm.com/.

IMG_0745

Another treat as I mentioned above that my husband and I enjoyed was from a local Brewer, Pup’s Cider.  They were selling beer and hard cider.  The hard cider was crisp and dry.  I found it refreshing and a large step away from the commercially produced ciders which can be overly sweet in my opinion. I enjoyed sipping it on the warm evening on our deck with a nice local fish dinner.  My husband had the American Pale Ale.  That was served chilled.  It was refreshing with dinner. It was a bit on the sweeter side but good. More about Pup’s Cider company can be found here http://www.pupscider.com/SHTM/HOME.htm.

Bedford Farmers’ Market was definitely a fun shopping trip for me and my little guy.  There was plenty of shade and lots of nice people out for some local dinner shopping. I can’t wait to go back and grab more goodies! ❤

Check out the Bedford Farmers’ Market and what New Hampshire has to serve up fresh at https://www.bedfordfarmersmarketnh.org/?fbclid=IwAR2mP22tMI6pEpMeNVLaMmyhQ0-5Dd2jpB6DLjxLWaBzNxJ_jEqBBwGJg1A or their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/BedfordFarmersMarketNH/ .

Blueberry Baby Puree

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint of blueberries
  • 3 cups of water

Directions:

  • Place a sauce pot on your stove and add the water to the pot.
  • Turn the burner on high and add a steaming insert into pot.
  • Wash blueberries. When water is boiling add blueberries to steaming insert.
  • Steam for 5 minutes.
  • Remove berries from insert and place into food processor. Puree till smooth consistency.
  • Divide puree evenly into silicone ice cube tray.
  • place plastic wrap on the top.
  • Freeze over night.
  • Serve completely thawed or frozen in baby fruit pacifier.

To thaw:

  • Thaw by placing in lidded mason jar the night before serving. Ensure completely thawed before serving.

Always supervise baby carefully when they are eating.

Check back in next week to hear about our adventure at the Merrimack Farmers’ Market. If you enjoyed this blog please like, comment or share.  You can also find more from me on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

 

Leave a comment